Negotiating the Climate Cliff

India's Climate Policy and INDCs

Speakers Speakers

Shri Prakash Javadekar Hon'ble Minister of State for Environment (Independent Charge) Forests and Climate Change, Government of India

Mr Jamshyd N. Godrej Co-Chairperson CEEW

Ambassador Chandrashekhar Dasgupta Member, Prime Minister's Council on Climate Change

Mr Susheel Kumar Additional Secretary Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change

Dr. Dipak Dasgupta Former Principal Economic Adviser Ministry of Finance, Govt. of India

Prof P R Shukla IIM Ahmedabad

Mr. Nitin Sethi Associate Editor Business Standard

Dr Anil Kakodkar Former Chairman Atomic Energy Commission

Mr Patrick Ledermann Managing Director ALSTOM India

Ms Natalia Kudryashova First Secretary Embassy of the Russian Federation in India

Dr R Ramachandran Consultant Frontline

Mr Tarun Das Founding Trustee CEEW

Mr Shatrughna Singh Additional Secretary Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion

Mr K Swaminathan Adviser (Environment) Ministry of Railways

Prof Dinesh Mohan IIT Delhi

Dr Bhaskar Natarajan Deputy Chief of Party USAID PACE-D

Mr Rakesh Bhargava Vice-President Shree Cement Ltd.

Dr Rajesh Nair Global Practice Head ITC Infotech India Ltd

Mr Madhav Pai Director EMBARQ- India

Dr Sukumar Devotta Former Director NEERI

Dr R.R. Sonde Executive Vice President Thermax India

Dr Malti Goel CSIR Emeritus Scientist JNU

Dr Shashi Ahuja Head (IS-STAC) & Scientist "G" Department of Science & Technology

Dr Pradeep Dadhich Deputy Director IRADe

Mr Bhaskar Deol India Representative Natural Resources Defense Council

Mr Roop Salotra Adviser SRF Chemicals

Mr Bhushan Dhonde Business Manager – Refrigerants (South Asia), E. I. DuPont India Private Limited

Dr Arunabha Ghosh Chief Executive Officer CEEW

Dr Vaibhav Chaturvedi Research Fellow CEEW

Mr Karthik Ganesan Senior Research Associate CEEW

Ms Sudatta Ray Junior Research Associate CEEW

Mr Mohit Sharma Junior Research Associate CEEW

Conference Agenda

Venue: Hotel Le Meridien, New Delhi

9.00 – 9.30 AM Registration
9.30 – 9.50 AM Welcome address by Mr Jamshyd N. Godrej, CMD, Godrej and Boyce Mfg. Co. Ltd. & Co-Chairperson, CEEW
9.50 – 10.30 AM Keynote address by Shri Prakash Javadekar, Hon’ble Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Environment, Forests and Climate Change, Government of India
Session 1
10.30 – 10.45 AM Setting the Agenda: Introduction and Key Discussion Themes
  • Presentation by Dr Arunabha Ghosh, CEO, Council on Energy, Environment and Water
10.45 – 11.50 AM INDCs – Renewable Energy and the Pathway to Paris
  • Panel Discussion: Chaired by Ambassador Chandrashekhar Dasgupta, Distinguished Fellow, TERI & Member, Prime Minister’s Council on Climate Change
  • Panellists: Mr Susheel Kumar, Professor P.R. Shukla, Dr Dipak Dasgupta, Mr Nitin Sethi, Dr Arunabha Ghosh
11.50 – 12 PM Tea Break
Session 2
12 – 1.15 PM Powering Ahead: Nuclear or Unclear?
  • Panel Discussion: Chaired by Dr Anil Kakodkar, Former Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission & Former Secretary, Department of Atomic Energy, Government of India
  • Panellists: Mr Patrick Ledermann, Ms Natalia Kudryashova, Dr R Ramachandran
1.15 – 2.15 PM Lunch
Session 3
2.15 – 3.15 PM Indian Industry: Pathways to emission reductions and sustainability
  • Panel Discussion: Chaired by Mr Tarun Das, Founding Trustee, Council on Energy, Environment and Water
  • Panellists: Dr Rajesh Nair, Mr Rakesh Bhargava, Mr Shatrughna Singh, Dr Bhaskar Natarajan
3.15 – 4.15 PM Towards an electric rail-based transportation system
  • Panel Discussion: Chaired by Professor Dinesh Mohan, Indian Institute of Technology - Delhi
  • Panellists: Mr Madhav Pai, Mr K. Swaminathan, Dr Vaibhav Chaturvedi
4.15 - 4.25 PM Tea Break
Session 4
4.25 – 5.25 PM HFCs – Critical questions for alternative refrigeration technologies
  • Briefing presentation by CEEW - Dr Vaibhav Chaturvedi
  • Panel Discussion: Chaired by Mr Jamshyd N. Godrej
  • Panellists: Mr Susheel Kumar, Dr Sukumar Devotta, Mr Bhaskar Deol, Mr Bhushan Dhonde, Mr Roop Salotra
5.25 – 6.25 PM Carbon Capture and Storage: What does integrated assessment modelling tell us?
  • Panel Discussion: Chaired by Dr R. R. Sonde, Executive Vice President, Thermax India
  • Panellists: Dr Shashi Ahuja, Dr Malti Goel, Dr Pradeep Dadhich, Mr Narain Lal
6.25 – 6.35 PM Vote of Thanks by Mr Jamshyd N. Godrej, Co-Chairperson, CEEW
6.35 Onwards Networking Dinner